Monday, November 16, 2009

'Barking Water' best film at American Indian Film Festival

Media Inquiries Contact:
November 16, 2009


SAN FRANCISCO - The American Indian Film Institute (AIFI) announces award show winners for the 34th annual American Indian Film Festival. The awards were presented at the American Indian Motion Picture Awards Show on Saturday Nov. 14 at 6:00p.m at the Palace of Fine Arts in San Francisco.

The American Indian Motion Picture Awards Show, has recognized excellence in American Indian cinematic achievement, making the annual awards show one of the most prominent Indian Country and Native Cinema showcases.

Outstanding performances varied across the talent venue, on awards night including: Grammy award–winner Joanne Shenandoah; recording artist Jana Mashonee; hoop dancers, The Sampson Boys; rock group The Plateros; violinist’s Swil Kanim and Laura Ortman; and singer Star Nayea.

Award Winners: Best Film- Barking Water, Director: Sterlin Harjo, USA: Best Director - Kevin Wilmott, The Only Good Indian, USA: Best Actor- Wes Studi, The Only Good Indian, USA: Best Actress - Casey Camp-Horinek, Barking Water, USA; Best Supporting Actor- Winter Fox Frank, The Only Good Indian, USA: Best Supporting Actress - Michelle Thrush, Blackstone, Canada: Best Documentary Feature - Lost Sparrow, Director: Chris Billing, USA: Best Documentary Short - Pipestone- An Unbroken Legacy, Director: Ron E. Scott, USA: Best Live Short Subject - Given to Walk, Director: Robert Guthrie, USA: Best Animated Short- How People Got Fire, Director: Daniel Janke, Canada: Best Music Video - A Change is Gonna Come, Director: Stephan Galfas, USA: Best Public Service - Sweet Blood, Director: Shirley Cheechoo, Canada.

Special Achievement awards, the Eagle Spirit, were presented to personages that exemplified outstanding character, fortitude, career accomplishments in the arts, media, cultural and governmental affairs. The recipients were: Marshall McKay, Chairman of Yocha- Dehe Wintun Nation, owners of Cache Creek Resort and Casino, Hattie Kauffman, National News correspondent for CBS The Early Show, and William Osceola, Tribal Liaison for Seminole Tribe of Florida, owners of The Hard Rock CafĂ© and Casino’s worldwide.

No comments: