Indigenous Peoples and Human Rights 2020

Tuesday, August 4, 2009

Native American Journalists Association photos

Congratulation to NAJA winners:
General Excellence Daily/Weekly Category
1st Navajo Times, Duane Beyal, Editor
2nd Place Kalihwisaks Newspaper, Dawn Walshinshi, Managing Editor
3rd Place The Cherokee One Feather, Scott M. Brings Plenty, Reporter
General Excellence News Print Category
1st Place Cherokee Phoenix, Travis Snell, Assistant Editor
2nd Place Confederated Umatilla Journal (CUJ), Wil Phinney, Editor
3rd Place Fond du Lac News, Deborah Locke, Editor
General Excellence Magazine Category
Say Magazine, Leslie Lansbury, Publisher
General Excellence Website Category
1st Place Lakota Country Times
2nd Place Kalihwisaks Newspaper, Steven Gandy, Senior Photographer/Reporter
3rd Place Oneida Indian Nation, Jim Heins, Editorial
More NAJA awards:
PHOTOS: At the Native American Journalists Associations Convention in Albuquerque, Drummers honor NAJA founders; (2) Marley Shebala, staff reporter and Tom Arviso, publisher, both of Navajo Times (3) Mary Jean Robertson, radio host from San Francisco, talks about Alcatraz, after her workshop on the far reaching effects of the Occupation of Alcatraz, from new legislation to new pride in being Native American. (4)Victor Rocha, publisher of Pechanga Net, joined Mark Trahant for a workshop on how Facebook and Twitter are changing lives and the face of news, (Listen at Censored blogtalk radio .) (5) Seated at the banquet luncheon to honor the NAJA founders: Loren Tapahe, publisher of Native Scene in Arizona, and Tim Giago, publisher of Native Sun in South Dakota. Giago published Lakota Times before creating Indian Country Today in the 1990s, and later sold ICT to the Oneida Nation in New York. Giago currently publishes the Native Sun. (6) NAJA founders, including the children of founders who passed to the Spirit World. The NAJA workshops also included "The Border Crossed Us," with Jose Matus, Yaqui ceremonial leader and director of the Indigenous Alliance without Borders, and columnists Roberto Rodriquez and Patricio Gonzales from Tucson. Photos copyright Brenda Norrell. (It has been an honor to have worked with you all -- brenda)

Fond du Lac awardee at NAJA:

No comments:

About Censored News

Censored News is published by Brenda Norrell. Since 2006, Censored News has received more than 20 million pageviews. As a collective of writers, photographers and broadcasters, we publish news of Indigenous Peoples and human rights. Contact publisher Brenda Norrell:

Donate to Censored News

Please donate to Censored News for travel and equipment for our live coverage. Thank you, Brenda.