First Voices Radio welcomes Dineh, Native Hawaiian, and Amazon Watch guests today




Tiokasin Ghosthorse, Cheyenne River Lakota, host of First Voices Radio, welcomes today Philmer Bluehouse, Dine', T. Lulani Arquette, Native Hawaiian, speaking on Native arts, and Andrew Miller speaking on the Amazon.

Listen now online to Tiokasin Ghosthorse, Lakota, and this week's radio show. It begins with Philmer Bluehouse, Dine', speaking on the paradigm shift needed during this time of pandemic, and how the narratives, songs and prayers are needed for peace and healing.

“First Voices Radio,” Wednesday, July 22, 2020 — 1 to 2 p.m. ET, WIOX 91.3 FM, Roxbury, NY. Streaming at www.wioxradio.org and on Tune In (see below for other time zones).

Philmer Bluehouse (Diné) developed the Peacemaker Court system in the Navajo Judiciary. Philmer also worked in the criminal justice system and has a number of writings available online.

T. Lulani Arquette is the President and CEO of the #NativeArtsAndCultureFoundation (NACF), a national organization dedicated to advancing equity and Native knowledge with a focus on arts and cultural expression that helps strengthen American Indian, Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian artists and communities. With offices in the Pacific Northwest, the foundation provides support to Native artists, tribal organizations, and communities across the nation.

Lulani, a theatre performing artist with degrees in Political Science and Drama and Theatre, brings more than 25 years of professional experience steering organizations to their highest creativity and potential, advocating for cultural perpetuation and social change, and catalyzing change in communities. Lulani’s current work is especially focused on how we attend to cultural equity, social justice, leadership, and the environment to build a more compassionate and just nation.

Andrew Miller brings two decades of human rights activism and international field experience to his work as #AmazonWatch's Washington, D.C. Advocacy Director. Since 2007, Andrew has collaborated closely with Indigenous partners from Brazil, Colombia, Ecuador and Peru, facilitating rights-based advocacy at Washington DC-based institutions such as the U.S. Congress and executive offices, multilateral banks, and the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights. He has also supported Indigenous-led campaigns to expel international oil companies such as Talisman Energy and GeoPark from Amazonian Indigenous territories. For more information, visit www.amazonwatch.org.

Listen locally to WIOX at 91.3 FM. Streaming live at www.wioxradio.org. (2-3 pm Atlantic / 1-2 pm Eastern / Noon-1pm Central / 11am-Noon Mountain /10-11am Pacific / 9-10 am Alaska / 7-8 am Hawai’i)

Liz Hill (Red Lake Ojibwe)
Producer
"First Voices Radio" - All-Native Hosted, All-Native Produced
WIOX 91.3 FM in the Catskills
Roxbury NY
(808) 856-6012 (mobile)
www.wioxradio.org
www.firstvoicesindigenousradio.org
www.facebook.com/FirstVoicesIndigenousRadio

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

MESSAGE TO THE WORLD FROM THE CEREMONIAL ELDERS OF WHAPMAGOOSTUI, QC CANADA

Actor Jason Momoa joins efforts in water crisis, as Navajo coronavirus cases intensify

PINE RIDGE: Oglala Lakota enforce border checkpoints after threat from South Dakota State Governor