August 2020

Indigenous Peoples and Human Rights

Friday, August 23, 2013

Mohawk John Kane: Radio and TV Sun, Aug 26, 2013

Native American commentator John Kane will dominate mainstream radio and TV in two U.S. media markets on Sunday, Aug. 26, 2013

By Liz Hill

WASHINGTON – On Sunday, Aug. 26, Native American radio and television commentator John Kane will be featured on mainstream commercial radio and TV throughout the day in two U.S. media markets: Minneapolis/Saint Paul, Minn. and Buffalo, N.Y.

At 6:30 a.m. EDT/5:30 a.m. CDT and 7 a.m. EDT/6 a.m. CDT, Kane will be a guest on “The Martha Fast Horse Show,” a 1/2-hour public and cultural affairs talk show hosted by Martha Fast Horse (Rosebud Sicangu Lakota). 

Judge lifts order blocking increased Trinity River releases in Hoopa region

Photo by Dan Bacher

Judge lifts order blocking increased Trinity River releases 

by Dan Bacher 

In a significant victory for salmon, a federal judge in Fresno today issued a decision lifting a temporary restraining order blocking increased releases of Trinity Reservoir water into the Trinity River to prevent a fish kill on the lower Klamath River. 

The decision by U.S. District Judge Lawrence O'Neill came after a two -day court hearing and days of protests from a large group of Hoopa Valley Tribal members. Over 60 Tribal members protested in Fresno, California at the Westlands Water District board meeting on Tuesday and outside the Fresno courtroom and in Sacramento, California outside a fisheries hearing at the California State Capital building on Wednesday