Indigenous Peoples and Human Rights December 2019

Indigenous Peoples and Human Rights December 2019

Tuesday, August 30, 2011

LISTEN LIVE Native America Calling Tar Sands Protest


Tuesday, August 30, 2011– The Tar Sands Protest:Listen at 1 pm Eastern, noon Central, 11 am Mountain, 10 am Pacific:
http://www.nativeamericacalling.com

Protestors outside the White House are being arrested for their civil disobedience. They are protesting the Keystone XL Tar Sands Oil Pipeline. President Obama will decide later this year on the permit for the massive pipeline that could send 900,000 barrels a day of the world’s dirtiest oil from Canada to refineries in the U.S. The pipeline would pass through Montana, South Dakota, Nebraska, Kansas, Oklahoma and Texas. Protestors say the pipeline will threaten fresh drinking water. Will the President sign the permit? Guests include environmental activist Clayton Thomas-Muller (Cree).

Also: In Canada on Sept. 26: Plans underway for mass arrests at Parliament:
Environmental activists are planning to get arrested during a show of civil disobedience on Parliament Hill on Sept. 26 — but don’t know yet how they can remain peaceful and still get incarcerated.
 http://www.metronews.ca/ottawa/local/article/955661--activists-seek-key-to-get-cuffed
Here's a second map, the one that has been removed from the TransCanada website. (Recovered by using the cache version online and a screen shot by Censored News.)


(Above) Oklahoma Tar Sands Pipeline map from TransCanada
.

No comments:

About Censored News

Censored News is published by Brenda Norrell. Since 2006, Censored News has received 19 million pageviews. As a collective of writers, photographers and broadcasters, we publish news of Indigenous Peoples and human rights. Contact publisher Brenda Norrell: brendanorrell@gmail.com

Donate to Censored News



Please donate to Censored News for travel and equipment for our live coverage. Thank you, Brenda.